Hi Students,

You will be happy to know that our Foundation is celebrating the 23rd year of H K Firodia Awards. These awards are given to eminent Indian Scientists for making outstanding and world-class contribution to any branch of Science. The very first award was given to no less a person than Dr. A P J Kalam, the missile man and former President of India in 1996. There have been several outstanding Scientists who have been felicitated with these awards in the last 22 years. They are from different branches of Science like Nuclear, Space, Computers, Agriculture, Life Sciences, Chemical Engineering etc.

This year the award winners are :

Chief Guest and Life Time Achievement Award - Mr. Nandan Nilekani, he is an Electrical Engineer from IIT Mumbai, also the Co-Founder and Non-Executive Chairman of Infosys – India’s second largest software services exporter. He was, until recently, the Chairman of UIDAI (Unique Identification Authority of India) which is also known as Aadhar Card.

Vijnan Ratna Award - Prof Sandip Trivedi, M Sc, PhD is the Director and distinguished Professor at TIFR Mumbai. TIFR is an internationally reputed institute (established in 1945) doing basic research in pure sciences. It has recently collaborated with Intel (US) and Niti Aayog to set up a model international centre for Transformative A I (ICAI).

Vijnan Bhushan Award - Prof Satyajit Mayor, MSc PhD is the Director, NCBS and in Stem, Bangalore. He seeks to understand how cell membranes wok. He has studied synthetic bio membranes for application of molecular biology in his PhD programme in US.

To celebrate this occasion, we are glad to bring to you a Science Quiz contest based on questions on General Science. These will be simple, slightly difficult and more difficult questions. Any Science and Engineering students, irrespective of the class he is attending, will be eligible.

The contest will be online from 7th December 2018 to 20th January 2019 and will be open for 24 hours a day. You can log in from any place from your laptop, computer lab or your smart phone. We will compile the results and announce the winners by 23rd January 2019. The winners will get an opportunity to ask questions to the Scientists in their field of specialization and such questions should be sent to our site address by 28th January 2019.

The format of the online contest is very simple. It will have multiple choice questions with single correct answers. The student will have to make a registration on the first page giving his personal and college information. He will have time of 45 minutes to answer 30 questions. Each correct answer will get 1 mark. There will be no negative marking.

We will have a score card of all the participants from whom first ten top rankers will be chosen by a panel of judges. The winners and participants will receive an e invitation by 25th January 2019 inviting them to attend the interactive session and the programme thereafter. They have to send the confirmation that they are attending by 28th January 2019 so that seats can be accordingly blocked. The questions should be asked specifically from the field of specializations of the respective Scientist. These should be mailed to us by 28th January 2019 on the site address already given. The remaining participants will be invited for the interactive session and also to attend the award presentation ceremony thereafter. Each one of the participant will get a digital certificate of participation after the programme is over. The winners will get a special certificate of their scores along with a surprise gift.

All the participants are invited for the interactive session on 1st February 2019 at the Bal Gandharva aladalan, Shivajinagar, Pune. The Awards Presentation Ceremony will be at Bal Gandharva Rang Mandir in the same premises. Timings will be announced soon..

For more information, participants are requested to visit our website http://www.hkfirodiaawards.org

Come on then dear Students get set to be the winner and get a Golden chance to interact with the eminent Scientists!

To know more about the H K Firodia awards and its history of 22 years - Do visit http://www.hkfirodiaawards.org